The History of the Glaziers’ Company
The written records of The Glaziers’ Company go back to the fourteenth century and a very brief history can be accessed here.
Recent research suggests that evidence of the existence of the Glaziers Company can be traced to written records dated 1364-5. Although this means Ashdown’s History may not be completely accurate about the Company’s origins the work contains much valuable information about our heritage and can be accessed here. Taking the story a little further the History of the Company from 1919 to 1999, recently digitised through the good offices of Past Master Phillida Shaw and Freeman David Whyman can be found here.
The Company today is active in three main areas
Charity and Philanthropy
The Glaziers’ charity, The Glaziers’ Foundation, is beginning a major fund-raising campaign so that we can continue to support our existing charitable activities and develop new ways to support education in architectural glass art, design and conservation; and play a meaningful role in understanding our heritage through stained glass.
Community, Networking and Events
The Company today organises a special programme of social activities and visits for our members and guests. We also develop projects and community initiatives to showcase architectural glass art to members and non-members alike and to explore the opportunities for using architectural glass to create welcoming environments.
Growing our Membership – a Welcome for all
Join our growing membership today and become part of one of the most diverse, welcoming and inclusive of London’s City Liveries. Membership of the Glaziers’ Company is open to all, and we welcome members with a wide range of backgrounds, including practising glass artists.
For more information about the History of the Company, or to make enquiries of our Honorary Archivist, Colin Gregory, in the first instance please contact our Clerk, Liz Wicksteed email@example.com
9 Montague Close
London SE1 9DD
0207 403 6652