Competitions and Awards

One of our priorities is to encourage undergraduates and new artists and craftspeople to develop their careers in architectural glass design, historic glass conservation and excellence in craftsmanship. We encourage the highest technical standards and creative attainment in architectural glass art. We do this through our Awards and Prizes including the prestigious annual Stevens Architectural Glass Artist of the Year Competition. A number of distinguished professional glass artists and conservators generously give their time to support our work, along with members of the Glaziers’ Company.

Stevens Competition

2019 First Prize Winner James Cockerill

For over 50 years the Glaziers’ Company has run the Stevens Competition to provide a unique opportunity for aspiring architectural glass designers and craftsmen in order to showcase their talent. Entrants are asked to create a design, and if they wish, to fabricate a sample panel to illustrate their design. Entries are judged by a panel of experts and a range of valuable cash prizes is available. The Competition brief is based on a real-live commission and for one contestant a commission to fabricate and install their design could result. All entrants are given the choice of having their work exhibited to the public at the Stained Glass Museum at Ely; the home of the national stained glass collection.

The Competition is about identifying and encouraging new and up-and-coming talent of all ages early in their career so is only open to designers who have started training and their vocation in glass during or after 2012.

The 2023 competition has now been launched. Details can be found here.

Work Placement Awards

The 40-week Award for Excellence and the 10-week Ashton Hill Awards offer new and emerging architectural glass artists the chance to develop their practical skills for a career in stained glass.  Successful candidates are offered funded placements in studios where they will gain mentored work experience from professional artists and conservators.

Travelling Scholarship (awarded every two years)

The Arthur and Helen Davis Travelling Scholarship allows the winner to develop their study and knowledge of glass through travel. Recent winners have visited the USA, France, Germany, Iceland and the Czech Republic.   Recent award winners include Anne-Catherine Perreau (2018) who took the opportunity to research Jean Cousin: sanguine and carnation glass pigment from the point of view of a glass painter, in Paris, Tours, Lisbon, Antwerp, Cologne, Ely and London.  In 2016 Oksana Kondratyeva carried out research on Secession stained glass in Lviv, Ukraine and the stained glass iconostasis in Kharkiv, Ukraine; and on the Arts and Craft heritage of the Königliche Bayerische Glasmalerei in Germany.  In 2012 Ray Taylor studied architectural glass type and glass surface decoration in England, Germany, the Netherlands and France.