Stevens Competition Winners 2018


First Prize winner Amy Johnson of Holy Well Glass receiving her award from the Master Glazier Keith Barley

Students and emerging architectural glass artists were honoured on 24 May 2018, at a prize-giving ceremony at Glaziers’ Hall as the winners of the Company’s prestigious Steven Competition for Architectural Glass were announced.  Entrants were asked to design two windows for a new dance studio at Eastbourne College to mark its 150th anniversary.  The College may choose to commission any of the entries, and the cost of the installation of any commission, up to £20,000, will be sponsored by the Arnold Embellishers, a Society of friends of the College dedicated to enhancing its beauty and dignity.

Entrants were required to submit a full design and commission budget on paper and to make a small sample panel of part of the window to demonstrate their craft skills and to show how the design might work in practice.

first prize

The winner of the First Prize (the Brian Thomas Memorial Prize) of £2,000 was Amy Johnson of Holy Well Glass whose sample panel is shown on the left. Amy also won the Award for Craftsmanship (the George and Evelyn Gee Prize) of £300.



second prize

The second Prize (£1,200) was awarded to Janine Greenberg of Kensington and Chelsea College.




third prize

Third Prize (£600) was awarded to Anna Selway of the University of Sunderland.




highly commended and overseas winner

Siobhan Alexandra Phillips of Innovative Glass Products and Bethan Sian Yates of the University of Wales Trinity St David, Swansea were both highly commended and won prizes of £300. Bethan also won the Award for Best Presentation (£300). The Overseas Prize of €475 sponsored by Vinci Construction UK was awarded to Jessica Lambinet of Ensaama, Paris. Their panels are shown below in the above order.