Stevens Competition 2020 Winners

The winners of the internationally renowned and prestigious annual Stevens Architectural Glass Competition have been announced at an online Prize-giving ceremony.

In the light of COVID-19, The Glaziers’ Company modified the 2020 Competition brief so that entrants could submit the work they had been working on before their studio access was curtailed by lockdown.  Two categories of entry were established: design only; and design + craftsmanship (including the judging of a completed sample glass panel). Entrants were also able to participate in an online seminar with the Judges before the Prize-giving to obtain valuable individual feedback on their designs and entries.

The brief was for a back-lit panel for the main reception area of the new John Morden Centre currently under construction at Morden College, Blackheath, south London. Morden College was established in 1695 by Sir John Morden and his wife for poor Merchants who had lost their Estates in “their honest endeavors to get their living by means of Merchandising”. Today, the College provides residential care for a wide range of older people. The new Centre will be a contemporary building in contrast to other parts of the estate, offering new facilities for activities designed to enhance the life of residents and also to be a visible, inclusive and welcoming environment for visitors.

The Judges

The competition was judged by six distinguished and internationally renowned architectural glass artists. They were

Professor Vanessa Cutler
Douglas Hogg
Louise Hemming
Nadine Judd
Kathy Jordan
Helen Whittaker (non-voting Head Judge)

Jessica Lambinet
The Judges were joined by David Rutherford-Jones, CEO of Morden College, for the shortlisting of entries for the award of a Commission to make and install the window itself. The decision to award the commission is entirely a matter for the Trustees of Morden College, who chose the design by Jessica Lambinet.

The full list of award winners is below.


Design & Panel

WINNER Brian Thomas Memorial Prize (£2000)

Jessica Lambinet Independent

Runner-up (£600)

Emma Martin University of Wales, Trinity St David, Swansea (UWTSD)


Design Only

First Prize (£1200)

Anna Selway Sunderland

Runner-up (£300)

Julia Gonyou Independent


Elaine Brown Memorial Prize- Overseas Award

Winner (475 euros in total)

Jessica Lambinet Independent (Panel shown above)


Reflections of the Lord Mayor Design prize (age 16-24)

Winner (£500)

Tristan Warnock Reeds School, Cobham


Award for Craftsmanship (The George & Evelyn Gee Prize)

Winner (£300)

Emma Martin UWTSD, Swansea (Panel shown above)


Award for Design Presentation

Winner (£300)

Jacqui Fowler UWTSD, Swansea


Morden College Commission

WINNER (worth £20,000)

Jessica Lambinet (complete design shown)

Click on image to enlarge


Ashton Hill Awards

The Awards Panel, chaired by Past Master Keith Barley MBE, made two Ashton Hill Awards (ten-week funded work placement programmes in leading studios in the UK and overseas) to Kieran Muir and to Sarah Shepherd. The Panel did not make an Award for Excellence or grant a Travelling Scholarship this year because of Covid-19.